Summer sewing

20140723-210500-75900673.jpg

Ok, I admit it: I have seriously caught the bug for sewing clothes! I’ve made quite a few things already over the past few weeks, and have got a few other projects planned too! I’m finally getting around to sewing things that I’ve wanted to make for ages, and it’s fab πŸ™‚

These tops are versions of the simple summer cotton top that I made a couple of months ago – I really love this pattern! It isn’t too difficult to make, and it fits really well. I had my eye on these fabrics for so long and then managed to get them in the John Lewis sale, which was even better!

20140723-213505-77705931.jpg

On the floral top I used one of my vintage buttons from our friend Madge, and I used a fabric covered button on the pink top.

20140723-213847-77927029.jpg

I also made another A-line skirt out of this super hot air balloon fabric – I love this fabric!

20140723-214311-78191357.jpg

This skirt has a lovely bright yellow lining, so it’s perfect for a sunny day!

20140723-215222-78742467.jpg

I’ve got a pattern for a different top that I haven’t tried out yet, so really looking forward to giving it a go. This one has a zip in it, so I’ll be doing a trial run before I make one out of this amazing fabric!

20140723-215944-79184565.jpg

I also started working on an alteration project tonight, turning this top into a skirt…it’s going well so far, so fingers crossed!

20140723-220054-79254403.jpg

Look out for more sewing on here soon! πŸ™‚ What have you been making?

4 thoughts on “Summer sewing

  1. Really cute fabrics Clare, loving the colours and the hot air balloon print. So cheery. I’ve managed to do a sample page for Urban Scrapbook. But that’s about it. Ugh, still organizing after our move. Getting there though.

    • Thanks, Kelly! 😊 I’m getting more adventurous when it comes to prints – Tom has a little way to catch up though! I do hope that you’re settling into your new home well. All that unpacking will be worth it when it’s done! I’m hoping for a tour of it on your blog!X

  2. I nearly bought that same top pattern you have a photo of there! Went for a slightly different one instead. It’s my step up in the sewing world!

Leave a Reply

