Made by my Mum: Textile art

20121201-131755.jpg

My Mum and I have become avid crafters over the past few years. We make all kinds of things but I particularly love papercraft, sewing and embroidery, and Mum has tried her hand at a variety of crafts including sewing and knitting. Earlier this year she went on a course to learn the techniques of rag rugging (known as ‘clippy mats’ on Tyneside!) and absolutely loved it! The course was held at the wonderful Me and Mrs. Fisher in York, and you simply must go and visit if you’re ever there!

Mum is always on the look-out for materials to use for rag rugging and she is building up quite a collection! She is also beginning to experiment with different sewing techniques and sent me this gorgeous piece of textile art in the post this week. I love it! I really want to display it and keep it dust-free, so I’m going to try and find a suitable frame. When I’ve found the perfect one I’ll post another picture!

4 thoughts on “Made by my Mum: Textile art

  1. Beautiful – and if she doesn’t believe you, perhaps she will if she reads it on your computer! Am I right in guessing that she did it on a needlfelting (embellishing machine)? =D

    • Thank you so much! Yes, I’ll have to show her the wonderful comments when we go to stay with my parents at Christmas ๐Ÿ™‚ She did use an embellishing machine – I’ve never used one before but apparently I can have a go in the holidays yay! Have you used one? ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

