Pumpkin, Carrot and Bacon Soup

My pumpkin has the cheesiest grin ever!

Happy Halloween! As you can see, we’ve been getting into the spirit and decorating pumpkins. However, I must admit that I’ll still be pretending to be out when the Trick or Treat-ers come knocking – I’m generally quite a Halloween Scrooge!

I decided to look for a recipe using pumpkin, and after trawling through loads of different recipes on the internet I settled on a soup recipe, but I’ve basically combined lots of ideas from lots of different recipes to come up with this one. I must admit that pumpkin isn’t really a vegetable that I usually use, and I suppose that true for quite a lot of people in the UK. But now I’ve tried this out I’ll definitely be using it every Autumn! You could always leave out the bacon to make a vegetarian version of the recipe – just remember to add some salt if you do!

INGREDIENTS

1 tbsp olive oil

200g/7oz brown onions, chopped

3 large carrots, chopped

1 medium sized pumpkin, chopped with outer skin removed

125g/4.5oz smoked back bacon, cut into small pieces

1 tbsp ground cumin

750ml/1pt 7floz vegetable stock

Black pepper (season to taste – also add salt if not using bacon)

METHOD

1. Heat the oil in large pan or stock pot and add the onions. Cook on a low heat until softened.

2. Add the pumpkin, carrots, bacon and cumin. Season, stir well, cover and cook for around 10 minutes.

3. Add the stock and raise the heat to bring to the boil. Then lower the heat and simmer (uncovered) for 20-25 minutes or until the pumpkin is soft.

4. Leave to cool and then blend with a hand blender. I like my soup to be quite chunky, but you could puree it if you prefer.

5. Enjoy with some home-baked bread 🙂

Pumpkin, Carrot and Bacon Soup with home-made bread

I’ve also been making some gorgeous Yorkshire Parkin which is just perfect for a cold Autumn night in! I’ll post this recipe tomorrow because I haven’t managed to take a good photo of it yet…that’s if there is any left in the morning, it’s so delicious 🙂

Leave a Reply

